Vendetta

Couldn't find a picture with  a black girl...does it matter?

Couldn’t find a picture with a black girl…does it matter?

Hello guys!

I apologise for my absence and unsatisfactory answers to your ‘where-have-you-been’s. Consistency isn’t my forte right now, and guess whose phone decided to stop functioning. I wrote this piece last year and I just realised I haven’t shared it, though I recited it at an open mic event. Who said throwbacks have to be posted only on Thursdays? Enjoy, and kindly drop your comments. 🙂

******************************************

 

 

You pass your verdict
even before I plead my case,
Stormily spewing slander,
Like a volcano ejecting lava,
as you describe my features:
Lacklustre eyes,
brows the Creator carved in darkness,
a nose that struggles to breathe,
behemoth lips.
Your incandescent eyes bore into me with no sympathy,
glazing my eyes, inducing steam;
decreasing my grace with every glance you steal.
Crack. Shatter. Scatter.
That’s the sound of breaking self-esteem.

Mirror, Mirror on the wall.
You conceited, unfair judge of all.
You dissenter,
Disserving my head from the sky,
Bringing her down low to flirt with earth,
As tears from her eyes wet the ground.

Today, my tears flow a different course,
Unto your face this time.
I weep because you do not know you are blind.
How can you not see the beauty within me?
Come, let me save you from your misery.
Crack. Shatter. Scatter.
That’s the sound of breaking glass.

12 thoughts on “Vendetta

  1. Kpa Kpa Kpa. That’s the sound of clapping hands. “Like a Volcano ejecting lava” brought about unsavoury images if you know what I mean <_<. As usual,a wonderful write-yp Dunni. It's starting to get old hailing your writing dexterity.

  2. Wow! You weave your words beautifully ‘Dunni. It’s always a delight to read you.
    “decreasing my grace with every glance you steal.
    Crack. Shatter. Scatter.
    That’s the sound of breaking self-esteem”
    I like the picture the above lines conjure.
    Wow! Wow! The ending is superb!
    “I weep because you do not know you are blind.
    How can you not see the beauty within me?
    Come, let me save you from your misery.
    Crack. Shatter. Scatter.
    That’s the sound of breaking glass.”
    Nicely crafted.

So what do you think?